Jenkins County Sheriff


In accordance with the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) Chapter 17, the Georgia Crime Victim’s Bill of Rights, the Jenkins County Sheriff’s Office has provided the listed information. If you are a victim, or a family member of a victim, of one or more of the following types of crimes:

• Armed Robbery
• Arson
• Assault/Battery
• Burglary
• Cruelty to Children
• False Imprisonment
• Feticide
• Feticide by Vehicle
• Homicide
• Homicide by Vehicle
• Kidnapping
• Reckless Conduct
• Serious Injury by Vehicle
• Sexual Battery
• Sexual Exploitation of a Child
• Stalking
• Theft

Then you are entitled to know the following:

1. It is possible that the accused may be released from custody prior to trial;

2. That you, as a victim, have certain rights during various stages of the criminal justice process;

3. Additional information about your rights can be obtained by contacting the Criminal Justice Coordinating Council at (404) 559-4949

4. You may be eligible for monetary compensation for certain out-of-pocket expenses (from the State’s Crime Victim’s Emergency Fund) incurred as a result of your victimization;

5. You may contact the Governor’s Victim Assistance Help line at (800) 338-6745 for assistance or clarification of your rights;

6. You must be notified, by the investigating law enforcement agency, of the accused’s arrest; and

7. You must provide the investigating law enforcement agency with your current address and phone number if, you wish to be contacted. Pagers or cellular phone numbers are not sufficient.


This program assists innocent violent crime victims with out-of-pocket medical or counseling bills, funeral costs and lost wages directly related to their victimization. Eligibility for funds is based on criteria designed by the State of Georgia. You may be eligible if you are:

• a victim of a violent crime;
• a dependent spouse or child of such a victim
• a reasonably acting "good Samaritan";
• a family violence victim;
• a DUI crash victim;
• a parent/guardian of an eligible minor;
• a guardian or estate administrator of an eligible mentally incompetent claimant; or
• any person who is not a direct service provider and who assumes the cost of an eligible expense of a victim, regardless of such person’s relationship to the victim or whether such person is a dependent of the victim.


• a victim who was incarcerated or is currently serving an existing sentence for a felony involving criminally injurious conduct;
• a victim that does not cooperate with law enforcement, prosecution or the Council;
• a victim that contributed to their victimization; or
• a victim whose sole loss was property.

Other Requirements Include:

The crime must be reported to law enforcement within 72 hours, unless good cause is shown; and a completed application must be filled out and submitted within 180 days of the incident, unless good cause is shown. Application, copies of the Victim Compensation Law and other information may be obtained by writing or contacting:

c/o Crime Victim Compensation Committee

503 Oak Place, Suite 540

Atlanta, GA 30349

(404) 559-4949 (Phone)

(404) 559-4960 (FAX)

(404) 559-4177 (TDD)

Jenkins County Sheriff
Copyright 2010 Jenkins County Sheriff's Office. All Rights Reserved.